Lifecycle of a smart idea | Commercializing artificial intelligence: Strategies for the next era of invention

Live webinar

24 March 2021
1 p.m. GMT, 2 p.m. CET, 9 p.m. CST, 9 a.m. EST
0.75 hour of substantive CPD credits with the LSO and LSBC, and may be eligible for up to 0.75 hour of CPD/CLE credits in other jurisdictions CLE/CPD

Registration for this event is closed.

Download or print PDF
Webinar

Who should attend 

Around the world, the protection of artificial intelligence-based inventions has pushed courts, IP offices and patent professionals into uncharted – and occasionally abstract – new territory. Such challenges notwithstanding, a strategic understanding of this evolving IP landscape is critical for anyone looking to maximize the significant opportunity that AI presents across all sectors.

What you'll learn

On March 24th, join members of Gowling WLG's global Intellectual Property Group as they distil the key considerations that underpin an informed approach to protecting AI-based technology, both at home and abroad. In doing so, they will explore the many ways AI is being deployed today, while also highlighting important issues related to subject matter eligibility, trade secrets as an alternative to patenting, and international prosecution strategy. The panel will include Matt Hervey, head of Gowling WLG's AI group and co-editor of The Law of Artificial Intelligencean essential practitioner's reference book examining emerging laws specific to the use of AI. 

Post-webinar breakout rooms

Immediately following the webinar, we invite you to join our panellists in virtual breakout rooms where you will have the opportunity to ask direct questions and participate in a discussion with other attendees. Please register for a breakout session on your registration form (you'll need Zoom version 5.3 or higher).

*This program is eligible for up to 45 minutes (0.75 hours) of  substantive CPD credits with the LSO and LSBC, and may be eligible for up to 45 minutes (0.75 hours) of CPD/CLE credits in other jurisdictions. If you indicate that a certificate is required on your registration form, we will email you your certificate after the session.

Please contact Shannon Wadsworth if you have any questions.

Lifecycle of Smart Idea series

Lifecycle of a Smart Idea is a live webinar series offering a fresh look at the field of intellectual property by tracing the options and steps that occur over the lifetime of a "smart idea" – from the laboratory or the "eureka moment," to the branding, promotion, exploitation and beyond.

Presented by Gowling WLG's international team of IP professionals, the series explores the full range of IP rights, all while giving you the tips and perspectives you need to maximise opportunity and minimise risk when taking your smart idea to the global market.

Watch previous episodes 

Visit our IP Law Hub to watch previous episodes of Lifecycle of a Smart Idea at your convenience.