Lifecycle of a smart idea | Is there enough proof in the patent? Evidence in patent cases

Live webinar

29 September 2021
2 p.m. BST, 3 p.m. CEST, 9 p.m. CST, 9 a.m. EDT
0.75 hour of substantive CPD credits with the LSO, LSBC and Quebec, and may be eligible for up to 0.75 hours of credits in other jurisdictions CLE/CPD

Register for this event

Questions? Please feel free to contact Shannon Wadsworth.

Download or print PDF
Webinar

Evidence is one of the most vital elements when intellectual property (IP) infringement disputes come into play. In this installment of our "Lifecycle of a Smart Idea" series, which is dedicated to helping you maximize opportunities and minimize risk when taking your innovative ideas to the global market, members of Gowling WLG's global IP team examine the main issues that can arise in a patent dispute, such as:

  • Who has the onus on each main issue?
  • What are the evidentiary burdens?
  • What level of proof is needed?
  • What expert evidence is needed?

This webinar will allow attendees to hear from members of our IP team in Canada, the UK, Europe and China, as well as from a US patent arbitrator.

Post-webinar breakout rooms

Immediately following the webinar, we invite you to join our panellists in virtual breakout rooms where you will have the opportunity to ask direct questions and participate in a discussion with other attendees.

*This program is eligible for up to 45 minutes (0.75 hours) of substantive CPD credits with the LSO, the LSBC and the Barreau du Québec, and may be eligible for up to 45 minutes (0.75 hours) of CPD/CLE credits in other jurisdictions. If you indicate on your registration form that a certificate of participation is required, we will email you your certificate after the session.

Speakers

  • Selena Kim - Partner, Gowling WLG
  • Céline Bey - Partner, Gowling WLG
  • Laurent Massam - Partner, Gowling WLG
  • William Needle - Mediator & Arbitrator, JAMS
  • Elliot Papageorgiou - Head of IP Strategy in China, Gowling WLG
  • Jamie Rowlands - Partner, Gowling WLG

Watch previous episodes

This is the 16th installment in our Lifecycle of a Smart Idea series, dedicated to helping you maximise opportunity and minimise risk when taking innovative ideas to the global market. Watch more from the series » 

Event contact

Shannon Wadsworth
Events Specialist
416-862-4332
Shannon.Wadsworth@gowlingwlg.com

Share this event

Would a colleague be interested in this event? You can share this event using the following links.