Canadian Immigration Update – 13 more countries qualify for the eTA (Visa Free Program)

2 minute read
08 June 2023

Announced on June 6, 2023, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) has expanded the electronic travel authorization (eTA) program to include 13 additional countries.

Eligible travellers from those countries who have either held a Canadian visa in the last 10 years or who currently hold a valid U.S. nonimmigrant visa can now apply for an eTA instead of a temporary resident visa (TRV) when travelling to Canada by air.

The following new countries have been added to the eTA program:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Costa Rica
  • Morocco
  • Panama
  • Philippines
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Seychelles
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uruguay

Gowling WLG

Immigration legislation and practices continue to change frequently. Our Immigration Group would be pleased to help with any questions you may have about immigration into Canada or the US. To find out more about our group, reach out to a member of our team and subscribe to our newsletter for the latest updates.

NOT LEGAL ADVICE. Information made available on this website in any form is for information purposes only. It is not, and should not be taken as, legal advice. You should not rely on, or take or fail to take any action based upon this information. Never disregard professional legal advice or delay in seeking legal advice because of something you have read on this website. Gowling WLG professionals will be pleased to discuss resolutions to specific legal concerns you may have.

Related   Immigration