United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement signed

30 November 2018

The leaders of Canada, the United States, and Mexico have signed the United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement. Prime Minister Trudeau, President Trump, and outgoing Mexican President Nieto met early this morning during a sideline meeting at the G20 conference in Buenos Aires, Argentina to sign the Agreement. In brief remarks prior to signing, Prime Minister Trudeau referred to General Motors' recently announced plant closures in the United States and Canada as a "heavy blow," adding, "and Donald, it’s all the more reason why we need to keep working to remove the tariffs on steel and aluminum between our countries."

Canadian Foreign Affairs Minister Chrystia Freeland and her counterparts also signed the Agreement. Minister Freeland issued the following Communique. U.S. Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin also issued a Statement. The Office of the Mexican President issued a Press Release. The Parties must now pass legislation to implement the Agreement, which will face obstacles in the U.S. Congress when voted on in 2019. 

NOT LEGAL ADVICE. Information made available on this website in any form is for information purposes only. It is not, and should not be taken as, legal advice. You should not rely on, or take or fail to take any action based upon this information. Never disregard professional legal advice or delay in seeking legal advice because of something you have read on this website. Gowling WLG professionals will be pleased to discuss resolutions to specific legal concerns you may have.