Firmwide and individual success for Gowling WLG in Best Lawyers® 2022 guides

03 June 2021

Thirty-six Gowling WLG lawyers from the firm's UK LLP have been named 'Best Lawyers®' in the 10th Edition of the global peer review publication, with two named as 'Lawyer of the Year' for 2022.

Securing 39 rankings in total, lawyers from the firm's Birmingham and London offices are awarded the title of 'Best Lawyers® in the United Kingdom' for their legal expertise, as well as their ethics and professionalism of the highest calibre, named across 19 speciality areas including Real Estate, Financial Services, Public Sector, and Tech law.

The latest results include a further two rankings on the previous edition, with partners Elizabeth Gane and Joanne Tibbott named as new entrants in the Pensions category. Meanwhile, partners Paul Inman, Julian Pallet, and Martin Thomas celebrate further individual success, with all recognised for their expertise in two legal categories.

Cementing their success in 2022, partners Richard Black and Patrick Duxbury are also named in Best Lawyers'® exclusive 'Lawyers of the Year' list in the Pensions and Intellectual Property categories respectively. The lists showcase the premier lawyers in their respective fields among peers in 2022. This additional recognition is awarded to individual lawyers with the highest overall peer-feedback for a specific practice area and geographic region, with only one lawyer recognised for each specialty and location.

The firm is also recognised in Best lawyers'® "Top-Listed City Awards" list, having secured the single greatest number of lawyers recognised across Birmingham (22 lawyers) in 2022.

Best Lawyers® is one of the oldest and most respected peer review publications in the legal profession. The annual list of outstanding lawyers is compiled through an unbiased legal referrals process, surveying tens of thousands of the industry's leading figures.

Rankings for Gowling WLG's France and Germany lawyers are to be revealed later this month.

Each UK lawyer has been recognised for market-leading expertise in their specialist area. The full list of those named in the guide is as follows:


Bernardine Adkins: Competition Law

Robert Armour: Energy and Natural Resources Law

Gordon Bell: International Arbitration

Richard Black: Pensions Practice

David Brennan: Mergers and Acquisitions Law

Chris Brierley: Banking and Finance Law

Jonathan Chamberlain: Employment Law

Martin Chitty: Employment Law

Philip Clissitt: Education Law

Jason Coates: Pensions Practice

John Cooper: Competition Law

Nicholas Cunningham: Intellectual Property Law

Patrick Duxbury: Intellectual Property Law

Elizabeth Gane: Pensions Practice

Richard Green: Construction Law

Gordon Harris: Intellectual Property Law

Julian Henwood: Corporate Finance Law

Paul Inman: Intellectual Property Law & Life Sciences Law

Luke Kempton: Intellectual Property Law

Michael Luckman: Intellectual Property Law

Hugh Maule: Corporate Finance Law

Lee McBride: Environmental Law

Jeremy Millington: Corporate Finance Law

Lee Nuttall: Tax Law

Michael O'Shea: Construction Law

Julian Pallett: Banking and Finance Law & Insolvency and Restructuring Law

Ashley Pigott: Construction Law

Huw Roberts: Real Estate Law

Andrew Smith: Litigation

Gillian Stewart: Real Estate Law

Andrew Thomas: Environmental Law & Planning Law

Martin Thomas: Litigation Law & Real Estate Law

Joanne Tibbott: Pensions Practice

Mike Trainer: Real Estate Law

Nick Turner: Real Estate Finance

David Vaughan: Corporate Finance Law

Ian Weatherall: Insolvency and Restructuring Law

People mentioned

Media contacts